Dubai Aquarium

I am literally never this fast at updating my blog. There are trips and sewing projects that I have yet to write, let alone publish. There are a couple contributing factors to why I’m a bit faster with my trip blogging. First, I discovered that I can use a link from my flickr site to insert photos into wordpress (old news for many I’m sure, but a revelation for me!) and secondly, we’d been in Hualien the last couple days and had a typhoon come through that basically kept us indoors for almost the entire time we’ve been here. May as well take hold of the opportunity to blog and keep up with photos!

So, as promised in my last post, I’ve dedicated an entire post to the Dubai Aquarium. As I mentioned before, I LOVE aquariums, so I thought it fitting to share them here. The aquarium itself isn’t huge, but we took our time and enjoyed it. It also wasn’t that busy, thankfully, so it made it that much more enjoyable. The highlight for me was the otter feeding. I’ve never seen them this interactive with a trainer before! It was really incredible to watch. They are such smart creatures and it’s neat to see how they’ve been trained.

DSC_3446
DSC_3451
DSC_3454
DSC_3458

At this point, the trainer came out and proceeded to demonstrate things with them. He got them to wave to us, would also use his relationship with them to check their health and then reward them for good behaviour. It was really neat to see a couple of them paint as well.

DSC_3461
DSC_3466
DSC_3468
DSC_3471
DSC_3472

Checking their hearts
DSC_3474

They’re painting! The gift shop actually sold artwork that the otters had painted.
DSC_3481
DSC_3483

A tank dedicated to all things Finding Nemo 🙂
DSC_3496
DSC_3497
DSC_3501

The resident salt water crocodile
DSC_3501
DSC_3513
DSC_3515

In the shark tunnel
DSC_3520

That’s it for now. Hopefully Taiwan and Hong Kong won’t take as long to follow 🙂

Leave a Reply

