My first Anna!

By Hand London. Every blogger that I follow has made at LEAST one of these amazing Anna dresses. Here are just a few of the amazing Anna’s that inspired me to make my own: Fiona’s amazing polyester crepe Anna, Sew Busy Lizzy’s rose Anna, Sallieoh’s silk maxi Anna, Heather Lou’s gorgeous version and Tasia’s cotton print version. There are so many others, but these are some of my favourites. For those sewing the Anna for the first time, there’s a great sewalong to help you if you’re stuck.

First of all, I knew I’d have to do a SBA (Small Bust Adjustment). The sewalong gives really good instructions, and the bodice fit me like a glove. I was pretty happy considering it’s the first time I’d made a dress, let alone made an adjustment to the pattern piece. I used a light and flowy navy cotton lawn with small blue flowers. Upon closer inspection, they look like shamrocks, but blue! I decided to make the midi version because I figured I’d get more used out of it. I don’t tend to be a big dress wearer, but with all the pretty dress patterns and fabrics I’m seeing, I might end up becoming one!

20150614_090348-2

2 thoughts on “My first Anna!

Leave a Reply

