Turning Pants/Trousers into a Pencil Skirt

It’s a bank holiday weekend here in the UK and since we’re staying in London, I thought it’d be a good time to bring out the sewing machine to do some projects I’d been wanting to finish! One of them is taking old work pants/trousers and turning them into skirts.

I’d been on the hunt for skirts lately but I couldn’t find anything that I liked and was willing to pay for. I also had 2 pairs of work pants sitting in the donation pile that just didn’t fit me right anymore. I got to thinking that there had to be something I could do with them. I did some searching online, and sure enough I found some blogs that documented how to transform jeans/pants into a skirt. In order to accommodate an A-Line silhouette, a triangle panel is added to the front and back. I’m not overly fond of this look, particularly for potentially wearing what I make to work. So I was overjoyed to find this blog: http://laviediy.blogspot.co.uk/2012/02/pants-to-pencil-skirt-refashion.html that turns pants/trousers into a timeless pencil skirt.

The steps are really quite straightforward and it’s a simpler project than I thought!! The bonus with this project, is that because they used to be trousers, they are now skirts with pockets!! Something that I always struggle to find when buying in stores.

Here are some photos of my finished creations (oops, forgot to tuck the tag of my shirt in). I’m a bit of an awkward selfie taker so excuse the weirdness. I’m also holding my phone because I’m using it as a remote to trigger my camera to take the photo 🙂

If you follow the steps on the blog above, you’ll have a refashioned piece of clothing in no time!

 

My grey trousers converted to a pencil skirt. The joy of making your own skirts is that you control the length!
My grey trousers converted to a pencil skirt. The joy of making your own skirts is that you control the length!

 

Here's the back. As you can see, the split at the back looks quite good. Don't be fooled by the crease, the slit doesn't go up that high
Here’s the back with the split I worked in per the instructions in the blog. It gives a bit more freedom of movement when walking

 

Front of skirt #2. The material is lighter/thinner so I wasn't sure how it would turn out. I made this skirt a bit shorter than the grey one
Front of skirt #2. The material is lighter/thinner so I wasn’t sure how it would turn out. I made this skirt a bit shorter than the grey one

 

The back of the blue skirt. I made the back hem of this skirt a bit longer than the front for a different look. Don't be fooled by the crease at the back of the skirt, the slit doesn't go up that high
The back of the blue skirt. I made the back hem of this skirt a bit longer than the front for a different look. Don’t be fooled by the crease at the back of the skirt, the slit doesn’t go up that high
One thought on “Turning Pants/Trousers into a Pencil Skirt

Leave a Reply

